Moment of madness

This weekend is the 48 hour film challenge in London.

48hoursFilm

Unsurprisingly this is where you make a film completely from complete scratch in 48 hours. Complete madness and clearly only mad people would get involved. Mad people just like me! I have offered my musical services to a local group called Team Mutant Candy. Yes, that right – I will write a film-score from scratch in just a few hours. And I agreed to do this!!!

We aren’t sure what the theme/genre will be – but narrowing it down – I’ve been told it won’t be a war film, western or period-drama. Phew! But it could be any of the following:

  • B Movie
  • Buddy Film
  • Comedy
  • Crime/Gangster
  • Dark Comedy
  • Drama
  • Fantasy
  • Film de Femme
  • Found Footage
  • Horror
  • Martial Arts
  • Mistaken Identity
  • Musical or Western
  • Mystery
  • Operetta
  • Romance
  • Sci Fi
  • Sports/games/competitions
  • Spy
  • Superhero
  • Thriller/Suspense
  • Vacation or Holiday Film
  • Zombie

We will find out what the genre tomorrow evening. Goodness knows what will happen if it’s an Operetta or Musical! Why am I doing this crazy challenge? Partly for the challenge and to test my limits. Partly because it also sounds rather fun – and let’s be fair – it won’t drag on! I no doubt have it a lot easier than some of the other crew involved (in particular the writer, producer and director – who all have their work cut out for them). Will this be my finest work? Doubtful, but it depends how inspired/stressed I get and how much time I have to work. As preparation I am setting myself the challenge of scoring the entirety of After the Bombs tomorrow (which is a comparable time-frame). Keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

