Music rights and wrongs

I’m no closer to solving the previous post’s Sonar issue. I continued around the same cycle ad-nauseum with online support (I could draw you an exact flow-chart detailing their responses based on my actions). Eventually I got fobbed off to another department and the same cycle began again.

When I did some deeper digging around online, I found something which sounded exactly the same as what I had experienced. It “appears” I’ve been sold a “Publisher’s copy” of Sonar X1 Producer. This software has all the appearance of a full retail version but the licence expires 6 months after installation. What could possibly be annoying about this!!? Why was it sold in the first place (let’s just say be careful where you buy from online) and why isn’t this made more obvious to the user in the first place by the manufacturer (so this can be avoided)? Hmm…

As if by magic today I received an email from Cakewalk trying to get me to upgrade to the latest version of Sonar X2 at a discounted rate. If only I had a “proper” copy of X1 as I believed I did, I might have entertained the idea.

This is all rather frustrating as I was part way through composing some music for a film. I was asked to compose because the film-makers had fallen foul of that old chestnut “Music Rights”. They had the correct licence to use the original music at film-festivals, but this didn’t extend to television broadcast rights (at least not without large expense). So the moral of this post is: be careful you know exactly what your licence covers, especially when it comes to music.

One response to “Music rights and wrongs

  1. Television? Get you…

Leave a Reply

