The Lonely Bear

Over the weekend, my daughter completely surprised me. I was busy snoozing before getting woken by a little girl full to the brim with pride and excitement. She presented us with her latest creative endeavour, a self-written book entitled The Lonely Bear. She has only just turned six so I wasn’t expecting miracles in terms of spelling or grammar.  I was also not expecting anything as  long as twelve pages. Yet it completely astounded me how much she has already picked up from reading other stories (setting up the characters, repetition, an ending etc). I felt so incredibly proud that I made the flippant remark – we have to turn this into a small animation for you to keep.

I have been looking for a change of pace and style after both Legacy and Spare Change. An animation for children is just the ticket (I’ll document things here as I go along). I’m planning to use Flash (most probably very badly) to do achieve this. The animation will look rather crude, which I hope also lends it a certain charm.

I am currently working alongside my daughter who is helping me create the characters. The process is: I’ll doodle, she will tell me the one she likes and we make a few refinements. At the moment we have just finished our main character: Clare the bear (descended from the bear doodle on the right).

LonelyBear-BearSketches600px

So without further ado – I present to you the first of the characters and the title for my next little project:

LonelyBear-600px

Please show her lots of love as she is feeling rather lonely on her own right now.

5 responses to “The Lonely Bear

  1. That’s such a cute bear – I love reading your daily instalments 🙂

  2. I love this idea. How about using one of the doodles as the animated character? Personally I think they have much more charm than the ‘polished’ finished product, good though it is.

    • I did think about this, it isn’t much more work – but “the boss” has spoken (and she likes the colours!) 🙂 I may well do another short in that style at some point in the future though. These days far too much is rendered perfectly in 3D by computers and I love the imperfections. These give animation a human side and warmth which is otherwise lacking (exactly what gives Aardman animations their charm)

  3. Pingback: Once aponer time #5 - Child-Led Chaos

Leave a Reply

