Sounding off

Busy times! The next big thing on the horizon with Gail Hackston is called Cancer Hair (“an unromantic comedy“) which has been shortlisted for an Eastern Edge Film Fund award. We are one of five teams to be considered and recently we all met each other during one of the training events. It was not only inspiring chatting to the other teams, but extremely flattering that we might be considered worthy against such talented film-makers. The main difference on this film will be that I am going to produce whilst Gail will make her directorial debut.  I will no doubt blog in more detail soon.

Meanwhile things have been trundling on with Spare Change. To focus my mind, I have agreed to showcase the current rough-cut and talk further at the OFVM film-makers 10×10 event in Oxford on 7th February (ie. tomorrow night – gulp!). This event is great if you are local to Oxford, it is where I got to have my first play with a Black magic film camera.

I’ve essentially re-edited Spare Change from scratch and thrown out all the audio captured on location. This was generally unusable as there were 100 or so students milling around on the street at the time, the thing which surprises me most is how calm the shots look considering the chaos happening behind the scenes. I must thank my student-wrangling team for this! I must also thank all the actors who came back in November to re-record their lines. I am pleasantly surprised at how well the ADR worked.

Spare Change Team

However my decision to throw out the sound was perhaps hasty and is now coming back to haunting me. It’s scary how many small sound-effects I need to source, little moments which add so much. The film being shown tomorrow will still be devoid of many of these (people seemingly float across the pavement without their accompanying foot-step noises for example). I am finding the whole process surprisingly time-consuming – but the results are rewarding and it is already sounding great.

Sound Editing on Premiere

If nothing else it makes me appreciate all the hard work that sound-editors do. It also makes me appreciate how much sound adds to a film. It’s been said that the visuals account for 50% of a film and audio for the other 50%. This film is a very visual one, but it could possible be argued that audio is even more important.

Leave a Reply

